Preliminary Program




Norbert Gutknecht

Dear friends, dear colleagues, honourable dentists from around the world,


It is a great pleasure and privilege for me to welcome you to our joined world congress of laser dentistry here in Aachen. This celebration of the 30th anniversary of the establishment of the ISLD (International Society for Laser Dentistry) in 1988 in Tokyo here in Aachen, is a very big honour and challenge for us. Especially because of the fact that I started already 2 years after the foundation of ISLD with a dental laser center at RWTH Aachen University, focussing on basic and preclinical research, education, as well as the development of laser integrated treatment concepts.


It is also a great joy for me to inform you that we could appoint Prof. Lynn Powell, one of the founding members and former president of ISLD, to be the scientific chairman of this upcoming congress. He has shown his dedication for laser dentistry over a period of more then 30 years, and still today we are supported by his input in this special field of dentistry.


It is my intention to make this congress a turning point in the setup and structure of executing such congresses. This congress will integrate science and practical experience on different levels of presentations and demonstrations, like high ranked international keynote speakers, on stage life patient demonstrations, interactive digital poster presentations, oral presentations combined with clinical relevant skill training, short presentations of latest research findings, outstanding clinical case presentations, rotating company supporting workshops, and last but not least gaining continuous education certificates.


I cordially invite also all dental laser companies to take this opportunity to present and demonstrate their products during this special anniversary world congress!


For many laser dentists worldwide this congress will be “coming back home to Aachen”, to the RWTH Aachen University Hospital, where this congress will be executed. Aachen, the founding city of the German nation in the year 800, the city of Charlemagne in the heart of Europe, which will surprise you with his historical charm. Let it captivate you!


I am counting on all DGL and WALED members, being the hosting organizations, to support me and my organizing team not only with your presence, but also with your active participation and promotion of this congress. Of course I am already exited to greet and welcome also laser users from all the different countries around the world, as well as colleagues who are interested in this innovative and exiting technology.


Norbert Gutknecht
Organizing Chairman

G. Lynn Powell

Dear Colleagues:


I extend a cordial invitation for our to attend the 16th World Congress of the World Federation of Laser Dentistry (formerly ISLD). Come share, interact and explore with practitioners, researchers, educators and manufactories from around the world.


I 1988 there was less than 30 individuals worldwide exploring the use of lasers in dentistry. Today there are 100’s of on going research projects and 1,000’s of practitioners trying to improve the lives of patients. Come and learn from each other.


Please submit an abstract for presentation to share with others your research results, clinical experience, new techniques and your knowledge; OR attend and learn from the presentations and interaction with people from throughout the world.


All are welcome to attend and participate no matter what organization you belong to, or whether a laser user or not. I look forward to greeting you in a warm, friendly, sharing environment in Aachen, Germany this October.


G. Lynn Powell, DDS, Professor
Scientific Committee, Chairman

Prof. Dr. Norbert Gutknecht
Prof. Dr. Lynn Powell
Leon Vanweersch
Dr. Dimitris Strakas, PhD
Dr. Stefan Gruemer

Organizing Committee

Prof. Dr. Norbert Gutknecht


Leon Vanweersch
Dr. Dimitris Strakas, PhD
Dr. Stefan Gruemer


Organizing Committee Team Members
Eva Speck
Ursula Apitzsch

Dr. Riman Nasher
Dr. Daryah Salih
Georgios Fragoulis

Stefan Schreiber


DGL Local Organizing Team
Prof. Dr. Siegfried Jänicke
Prof. Dr. Anton Sculean
Dr. Ralf Borchers
Dr. Iris Brader
Dr. Birgit Fitsch
Dr. Ute Gleis
Dr. Thorsten Kleinert
Dr. Detlef Klotz
Dr. Thorsten Kuypers
Olaf Oberhofer
Dr. Gabriele Schindler-Hultzsch

Scientific Committee


Prof. Dr. Lynn Powell


Prof. Akira Aoki
Prof. Josep Arnabat
Prof. Dr. Andreas Braun
Prof. Ambrose Chan
Prof. Chukuka S. Enwemeka
Prof. Antonio J. Espana
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Rene Franzen
Prof. Dr. Marcia Marques
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Jörg Meister

Assoc. Prof. Sharonit Sahar-Helft
Prof. Adam Stabholz
Prof. Dr. Aslihan Üsümez
Prof. Denise Zezell


Honorary Scientific Committee Members

Prof. Isao Ishikawa (Japan)
Prof. Loh Hong Sai (Singapore)
Prof. Jacques Melcer (France)
Prof. John W. Frame (UK)
Prof. Carlos De Paula Eduardo (Brasil)

International Co-Organizing Committee

Dr. Miguel Martins, PhD (Portugal)
Dr. Alireza Fallah (Iran)
Dr. Peter Fahlstedt (Sweden)
Dr. Asma Ahmed (UAE)
Radu Pop (Romania)
Dr. Fadi Kuffash (Palestine)
Dr. Ilay Maden, PhD (UK)
Dr. Canon Mazen (UAE)
Dr. Anna Maria Yannikou (Cyprus)
Dr. Marina Polonsky (Canada)
Dr. Masoud Mojahedi (Iran)

Dr. Pilar Martin (Spain)
Dr. Jaana Sippus (Finland)
Dr. Alaa Sultan (Saudi Arabia)
Dr. Leena El-Sheerawy (Bahrain)
Dr. Youssef Sedky (Egypt)
Dr. Beatrice Pop (Romania)
Dr. Martiniano Francischetti (Argentina)
Dr. Marina Consuelo Vitale (Italy)
Rita Hage (Lebanon)
Dr. Joharia Saadat (Pakistan)
Dr. Mohammed Ben Aziz (Marocco)
Dr. Ana Catarina Da Silva (Portugal)
Peter Doubell (South Africa)
Dr. Victoria Palazuelos (Mexico)
Dr. Loreto Ortiz Dominguez (Chile)
Dr. Reza Fekrazad (Iran)
Prof. Hisashi Watanabe (Japan)
Dr. Yasser Stas (Syria)
Dr. Gottfried Gisler (Switzerland)
Prof. Roly Kornblit (Israel)
Prof. Kosmas Tolidis (Greece)
Ass. Prof. Adriana Barylyak (Ukraine)
Dr. Kenneth Luk (Hong Kong)
Dr. Zafer Kazak (Turkey)
Dr. How Kim Chuan (Malaysia)
Dr. Salam Alakash (Jordan)
Dr. Fabrizio Hinojosa (Peru)
Dr. Matjaz Lukac (Slovenia)
Prof. David Vincent Dilouya (France)
Prof. Roeland De Moore (Belgium)
Dr. Merita Bardoshi (Albania)
Dr. Mountaha Al Hage (Algeria)
Dr. Melissa Andreia Marchesan (USA)
Dr. Roger Bassit (Lebanon)
Prof. Stefano Benedicenti (Italy)
Assoc. Prof. Alessandro Del Vecchio (italy)
Dr. Kinga Grzech-Leśniak (Poland)
Prof. Dr. Peter Rechmann (USA)
Prof. Ayala Stabholz (Israel)
Prof. Carmen Todea (Romania)
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Georgi Tomov (Bulgaria)
Prof. Paolo Vescovi (Italy)
Dr. Carolina Benítez (Uruguay)

WFLD Co-Organizing Committee

Prof. Kenji Yoshida
Prof. Dr. Norbert Gutknecht
Prof. Samir Nammour
Prof. Sajee Sattayut
Prof. Toni Zeinoun
Prof. Aldo Brugnera Junior
Prof. Ambrose Chan
Prof. Umberto Romeo
Assoc. Prof. Alessandro Del Vecchio
Assoc. Prof. Sharonit Sahar-Helft
Dr. Dimitris Strakas, PhD